IT is the most sought-after prize among Premier League forwards – and is a sure way of deciding who is the best striker in the English top flight.

Last year, Mohamed Salah and Son Heung-min shared the award with legends such as Thierry Henry, Cristiano Ronaldo and Harry Kane previously scooping the prize.

Erling Haaland has begun the Premier League season in stunning form
Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah won the Golden Boot with Son Heung-min last season

Who are the favourites to win the Premier League Golden Boot?

Once again, Liverpool superstar Salah is expected to be right at the top of the standings but he will face fierce competition.

New Manchester City signing Erling Haaland, Tottenham’s Harry Kane and Son Heung-min as well as Gabriel Jesus at Arsenal are all candidates to net the most.

Liverpool also brought in Darwin Nunez and Ronaldo is a sure bet to score plenty at an underperforming Manchester United.

Outsiders for the gong are the likes of Callum Wilson at Newcastle, Raheem Sterling at Chelsea and Jamie Vardy at Leicester.



Every Prem Golden Boot winner as Salah hunts down Henry with third award


When is the 2022 World Cup? Date, TV channel, live stream, groups, kick-offs

Premier League top scorers 2022/23

As of Monday, October 24 (8am)

  1. Erling Haaland – Man City – 17
  2. Harry Kane – Tottenham – 10
  3. Aleksandar Mitrovic – Fulham – 9
  4. Ivan Toney – Brentford – 8
  5. Roberto Firmino – Liverpool – 6
  6. Phil Foden – Man City – 6
  7. Leandro Trossard – Brighton – 6
  8. Miguel Almiron – Newcastle – 5
  9. Gabriel Jesus – Arsenal – 5
  10. James Maddison – Leicester – 5
  11. Wilfried Zaha – Crystal Palace – 5
  12. Gabriel Martinelli – Arsenal – 4
  13. Alex Mac Allister – Brighton – 4
  14. Rodrigo – Leeds – 4
  15. Bukayo Saka – Arsenal – 4

Who scored in the Premier League this week?

Erling Haaland scored another two in Manchester City’s win over Brighton – a game in which Leandro Trossard added to his tally by pulling one back for the Seagulls.

Harry Kane struck his 10th Premier League strike of the season, but it wasn’t enough to complete the turnaround against Newcastle.

Premier League 2022/23

Everything you need to know about the Premier League

Premier League top scorers 2022/23: Who is leading the Golden Boot race?

Premier League owners – Who are the richest?

What is the TV football blackout law in the UK?

Premier League prize money: How much can each term earn?

What happens if a manager gets booked or sent off?

How much do Premier League referees get paid?

How many substitutions can Premier League teams make this season and how do the intervals work?

What is the offside rule in football, and how to explain it?

How will VAR work in the Premier League this season?

Why aren’t Premier League players taking the knee every weekend?

Most Premier League clean sheets ever – how Seaman, Cech, James and Van der Sar stack up

Who has previously won the Premier League Golden Boot?

  • 1992/93Terry Sheringham (Tottenham), 22 goals
  • 1993/94Andy Cole (Newcastle), 34 goals
  • 1994/95Alan Shearer (Blackburn), 34 goals
  • 1995/96 – Alan Shearer (Blackburn), 31 goals
  • 1996/97 – Alan Shearer (Newcastle), 25 goals
  • 1997/98Chris Sutton (Blackburn), Dion Dublin (Coventry), Michael Owen (Liverpool), 18 goals
  • 1998/99 – Michael Owen (Liverpool), Dwight Yorke (Man Utd), Jimmy-Floyd Hasselbaink (Leeds), 18 goals
  • 1999/00Kevin Phillips (Sunderland), 30 goals
  • 2000/01 – Jimmy-Floyd Hasselbaink (Chelsea), 23 goals
  • 2001/02 – Thierry Henry (Arsenal), 24 goals
  • 2002/03Ruud van Nistelrooy (Man Utd), 25 goals
  • 2003/04 – Thierry Henry (Arsenal), 30 goals
  • 2004/05 – Thierry Henry (Arsenal), 25 goals
  • 2005/06 – Thierry Henry (Arsenal), 27 goals
  • 2006/07Didier Drogba (Chelsea), 20 goals


Cristiano Ronaldo was the Premier League’s top goalscorer in the 2007/08 season[/caption]

  • 2007/08 – Cristiano Ronaldo (Man Utd), 31 goals
  • 2008/09Nicolas Anelka (Chelsea), 19 goals
  • 2009/10 – Didier Drogba (Chelsea), 29 goals
  • 2010/11Carlos Tevez (Man City), Dimitar Berbatov (Man Utd), 20 goals
  • 2011/12Robin van Persie (Arsenal), 30 goals
  • 2012/13 – Robin van Persie (Man Utd), 26 goals
  • 2013/14Luis Suarez (Liverpool), 31 goals
  • 2014/15Sergio Aguero (Man City), 26 goals
  • 2015/16 – Harry Kane (Tottenham), 25 goals
  • 2016/17 – Harry Kane (Tottenham), 29 goals
  • 2017/18 – Mohamed Salah (Liverpool), 32 goals
  • 2018/19Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Arsenal), Sadio Mane (Liverpool), Mohamed Salah (Liverpool), 22 goals
  • 2019/20 – Jamie Vardy (Leicester), 23 goals
  • 2020/21 – Harry Kane (Tottenham), 23 goals
  • 2021/22 – Mohamed Salah (Liverpool), Son Heung-min (Tottenham), 23 goals

What Son said after sharing Golden Boot with Salah

After sharing the 2021/22 award with Salah of Liverpool, Tottenham’s Son was ecstatic.

He said: “Even Lucas [Moura] who came on, Stevie [Steven Bergwijn], H [Kane], Eric [Dier], Ben [Davies].

“Every player was next to me and said, ‘Sonny you’ve got to do this, you believe and you will get another chance’. Finally I scored and I scored second goal, it was just incredible.


The Golden Boot was shared by Son Heung-min and Mohamed Salah last season[/caption]

“Today I missed the easiest chances but I scored one of the toughest chances.

“I’m very happy and I’m really, really grateful for the team that they helped me a lot, especially all season but this game today [Sunday], after 3-0 everyone was just like ‘Go on Son, go on Son! You got to do this, you deserve this’.

“I was really appreciative and that’s why I was pushing myself as well.”